Using EAP610 in my Home Network. Is using Software Controller Overkill?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-12-22 16:59:49
Model: EAP610  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.0.4 Build 20220325 Rel. 58214(5553)

I'm using two EAP610's in my home.  I know maybe a bit overkill but my new home was wired for overhead Access Points.  Working overall pretty good.  Have just been managing with the app or directly to each AP.  I'm running checkmk and seeing some flapping occuring.  Looking at fine tuning my wireless network.  Wondering if utilzing the Omada controller would make managing the two access points easier and better?  Appreciate any insight anyone might have.  I'm an IT consultant, so don't mind learning new areas.

Options
5 Reply
Re:Using EAP610 in my Home Network. Is using Software Controller Overkill?
2022-12-22 17:57:26

@bh56 Yeah using a controller will help and is not overkill.  Controller management provides a few extra features, the most useful one is seamless roaming (802.11k/v).  A RaspPi running the software controller is a common setup for low cost, and provides the always on controller needed for roaming.

Options
2022-12-22 18:50:10

@JoeSea 

Thanks for the confirmation on this.  Will give it a try.  I've got a VM environment that I can also spin up a Debian install.

Options
2022-12-22 18:54:28

@bh56 

Very good question! I’ve been asking myself this question for some time, too.