trying to use an x50 outdoor deco in existing xfinity home network to extend wifi to back yard.

trying to use an x50 outdoor deco in existing xfinity home network to extend wifi to back yard.

2024-08-20 21:35:20 - last edited 2024-08-20 22:48:09
Model: Deco X50 - Outdoor  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version: 1.2.5

I'm new to the deco line but it seemed like a nice way to extend my wifi as I would like to get it to go a bit further out to my back yard.  I bought the x50 - outdoor wich i'm trying to just use it indoors for now until I can get an actual line out side.  with it sitting by the window just out where I would like the wifi to extend to it may be strong enough as is but I got the outdoor just in case I do need to actually put it out door.  I was able to get it setup just fine however i'm running into an issue.  I also purchased a tp-link 4port poe switch model TL-SF1005P(UN) to power the device.  when I connect the x50 to the swtich I get horrible speeds.  when I speed test i'm getting about 9mbs down.  If I power it via the power cord and connect it directly to my main switch wich is in my basement and provides ethernet throught the house I get great speeds.  I'm wondering why I would be killing my speeds by using this tplink poe switch?